The vegetarian adventure continues…

It seems to me that after eleven days of our vegetarian adventure, now would be a good time to let everyone know how we’re getting on.

Before we go on, I must confess to having broken my no-fish rule on one occasion. Saturday was a friend’s stag night and I didn’t really fancy finding out what the vegetarian option at Sittingbourne dog track consisted of. No offence guys, I’m sure it would have been perfectly passable, but no, not for me thanks.

Instead I opted for a relatively safer choice: the traditional basket of deep-fried fishy goodness that is scampi and chips. Not the best I’ve ever had, nor the most generous portion, but after numerous pints of Guinness I wasn’t about to start complaining.

Anyhow, we’ve been sidetracked. You’re here to find out how a pair of veggie virgins have been getting on sans viande. Well, let’s just say no fried chicken has been destroyed so far. In fact both me and the missus are actually quite enjoying the experience and haven’t yet found ourselves fighting any overwhelming cravings for meat or fish.

A couple of dishes have really stood out so far. The piadina with red pepper pesto, rocket, red onions and mozzarella on our first night was delicious, and vegetarian enchiladas, made with a mix of zucchini, bell peppers, red onion, tomato and sweetcorn but no chicken, were just as flavoursome as the meaty version. In fact I’d probably be tempted stick with that recipe even once this whole veggie experiment is over.

Last Wednesday we decided to take advantage of what looked like the last day of summer and host a barbecue, which at first seemed a little trickier than usual given a quality cut of meat really is the best thing to throw over coals. But some spicy bean burgers, haloumi, asparagus and kebabs of zucchini, red onion and bell pepper with a garlic marinade did the trick nicely.

I did expect to be craving meat by now, but surprisingly it hasn’t happened, I’m not even slightly tempted by the thought of a bacon sandwich with thick white bread and HP Sauce… Well, OK, just a bit, but not so badly I’m about to buckle.

Then again, at least I know this whole veggie thing isn’t for life. I reckon if I’d made a long-term commitment to the vegetarian cause I might be feeling just a little differently right about now…

  • I’m still interested to hear from any proper vegetarians who might have some special recipes they think will help keep us on the straight and narrow. Check out the contact page for my email address.
3 thoughts on “The vegetarian adventure continues…

  1. You’re both doing great! Just think of all the vitamins and fiber your body is enjoying! It’s having its own celebration 🙂

  2. My wife and I became vegetarians about 15 years ago. At first I thought I’d miss meat, especially pork chops and sausages, but in reality it’s been easy. I’ve felt fitter, had fewer general illnesses, no digestive problems at all and would recommend it to anyone who wants to try it. Good luck and keep at it!

  3. I went veggie for a month as an experiment and carried on doing it for 15 years ! Two years in, my parents converted and my father stayed veggie until he died. My mother gas been veggie 30 yrs next yr ! I switched back to meat because I married a carnivore. However, his favourite food is my mother’s vegetarian potato yahni from the Cranks cookbook.

    Basically you chunk up equal quantities of potatoes and onions and add a tin of chopped tomatoes and some garlic and let it go all soft and orange over a low heat and eat accompanied by crusty bread and red wine.

Leave a Reply

