A confession…

Well, here goes nothing. When I started working as a journalist I didn’t think too much about the online world. Sure, it was a good research tool, but I never gave much thought to how we can use it to support and complement what we do in print.

Now suddenly in the last month or so, despite a somewhat well-deserved reputation as a bit of a technophobe, I’ve embraced Twitter and blogging as a way of communicating with a wider audience and showcasing what I’m up to at work.

The catalyst was undoubtedly starting a Dover Express page on Facebook. It took off quite quickly and soon readers were interacting with us in ways that just weren’t possible before. This got me thinking about other ways I can exploit the web at work.

I know I’m way behind the curve on this, that’s what being a Luddite will do to you, but from here on in I’m determined to embrace new media and see where it takes me. Should be an interesting ride.

2 thoughts on “A confession…

  1. A conversion… « Rhys Griffiths

  2. Twitter obsessive? Yes. Influential journalist? Maybe. | Rhys Griffiths

Leave a Reply

